The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act is intended to provide victims of domestic violence the maximum protection from abuse that the law can provide. The law protects anyone who has been subjected to violence from spouses, former spouses and any other family members. The law also protects those who have been falsely accused of domestic violence.
If you are a victim of domestic violence you can get immediate protection under the law. To talk with a knowledgeable and caring family lawyer about your situation, contact the attorneys at Musulin Law Firm, LLC.
If you are a victim of domestic violence, our lawyers can help you obtain a restraining order against your spouse. If you have been falsely accused of domestic violence don't delay in contacting an attorney. To schedule a consultation, contact New Jersey domestic violence Attorney Christopher Musulin. With our law office Musulin Law Firm, LLC, in Mount Holly, we serve clients throughout South Jersey. We are located directly across from the courthouse.
Who Is Protected Under the Law?
An abuse victim can include any family member over 18 years old, an emancipated minor, a person who has a child with or is pregnant by the abuser, or a person dating the abuser.
Domestic violence covers a wide range of abusive behavior, including:
- Terroristic threats
- Criminal restraint
- False imprisonment
- Sexual assault and battery
- Criminal sexual contact and lewdness
- Criminal mischief
- Burglary and criminal trespass
- Harassment and stalking
Reports of Domestic Violence and Effects
If a law enforcement officer responding to an incident of domestic violence in Burlington County finds probable cause to believe that an incident of domestic violence has occurred, the officer must arrest the abuser.
There are 16 different types of relief — called orders of protection or restraining orders — that the court may impose upon the defendant. A violation of any of these protection orders is considered contempt. Any person convicted of multiple contempt offenses will serve a minimum of 30 days in jail.